top of page
Search
  • Nic

Spiritual Math for the Non-Mathematical


Purity of heart is to will one thing

Integers in math are whole numbers. I am not a math-person. My husband will be laughing to even see me willingly use the word "math". However, after suffering through my entire life with serious math-phobia and what I am pretty sure was un-diagnosed case of dyscalcula (which is the numerical version of dyslexia) I have made my peace with math, more specifically math theory (though I can still botch a basic calculation with greatest of ease ;)

So I am going to consider four words integer, whole, holy, and integrity to bring us back around to purity starting with a math term.

Integers are whole numbers from Latin integer (adj.) "intact, whole, complete," figuratively, "untainted, upright," literally "untouched," from in- "not" (see in- (1)) + root of tangere "to touch," from PIE root *tag- "to touch, handle," from PIE root *tag- "to touch, handle." The word was used earlier in English as an adjective in the Latin sense, "whole, entire" (c. 1500).

Whole is a word we use often but may not take time to consider but since it ties into the concept of integer and to holiness let's take a look.

Whole hōl/ adjective1.all of; entire. synonyms:entire, complete, full, unabridged, uncut (from https://www.google.com/searchq=define+whole&oq=define+whole&aqs=chrome.0.69i59j0l5.2012j1j4&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8)

Whole – from the Old English hál, among other forms – was all about ‘being in one piece’, literally and metaphorically. Hál could mean ‘safe’ and ‘unharmed’, hence ‘in good condition’, body, mind, or spirit. The OED notes that, in context, the Old English hál especially signified something or someone ‘free or recovered from injury’. (Wholesome preserves this older, ‘well-being’ notion of whole, which English has otherwise largely lost.) But the Old English hál could also mean ‘undivided’, and therefore ‘entire’, ‘complete’, or ‘all’. It’s this meaning of whole that prevails today, from whole numbers and on the whole to the whole enchilada to the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth. Underlying wholeness, then, and uniting the two, primary Old English meanings of whole, is a more basic idea of ‘intactness’. (https://blog.oxforddictionaries.com/2016/12/20/wholesome/) We pull words like hale like "He's hale and hearty.", hail, and heil from this same germanic root.

In the Hebrew the word for Holy, "[qadosh] is usually translated as `sanctified' or `separated.' But Rabbi Hirsch explains (in his commentary to Num. 11:18) that the root [qadosh] means `to prepare'or `to be at the very height of being absolutely ready for all that is good' (p. xii)" (http://definitionofholy.blogspot.com/2010/10/holy-means-whole-according-to-samson.html) It is most often defined in theological contexts as "set apart" but as I have tried to wrap my mind around what that means I have felt the need to walk this out a bit. For example, why do I set apart, what do I set apart, and what then happens to that which I set apart? I set something apart because I have a purpose or a plan for it. I set apart that which is best suited for what I need to accomplish and then I put it into action. "Set apart" in this capacity then does not necessarily mean superior but best suited and kept intact for a purpose. "I have set these eggs aside to use in a pie"

Now the word integrity comes out of integer, c. 1400, "innocence, blamelessness; chastity, purity," from Old French integrité or directly from Latin integritatem (nominative integritas) "soundness, wholeness, completeness," figuratively "purity, correctness, blamelessness," from integer "whole" (see integer). Sense of "wholeness, perfect condition" is mid-15c. (https://www.etymonline.com) As we considered in the last post, integrity means to be consistent in who we are, truthful, honest, and transparent.

All these word definitions bring me back to where I started:

Purity of heart is to will one thing.*

Jesus is teaching what we call the sermon on the mount in Matthew chapter 5, and He says, 43 “You have heard that it was said, ‘Love your neighbor[i] and hate your enemy.’44 But I tell you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, 45 that you may be children of your Father in heaven. He causes his sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous. 46 If you love those who love you, what reward will you get? Are not even the tax collectors doing that? 47 And if you greet only your own people, what are you doing more than others? Do not even pagans do that? 48 Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect.

Purity is not to simply to avoid contamination, purity is to be whole, to be holy, to be all of one piece. As a Christian, to will one thing is to will what the Father wills, to live my life asking and seeking to know and do the will of God. "thy kingdom come, thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven". What if a pure, perfect, holy life is not one lived without error (impossible!) but one lived entirely for God, mistakes and all.

Purity of heart is to will one thing: I am to love my enemies, live whole-heartedly for Him. Perfection means to continue to humbly expose my divided heart to His healing truth and be made whole. This is not a "once and done" it's the fruit of following him.

Jesus+me=whole,holy,pure!= See God me+my best efforts=me*0=0 I just never get anywhere apart from Him.

*I am sure that Kierkegaard covered all this far more eloquently than I am or could, but I am coming at this backend first. I read his quote without reading his argument and it led me down a path of deep reflection that has shaped and continues to shape my life and thoughts. Maybe someday I will find the time and mental fortitude to go back and read his writings on the matter, actually it's likely a matter of integrity but it will have to wait until the farm is a bit more mature.)


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page