top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNicole

Valentine's on the Farm

It is 6:50 am on valentine's day and I am about fall back asleep on the couch. I spent the last hour and a fifteen minutes with my youngest celebrating. His bus comes before the sun all winter and to make this morning special, I get up and make French toast and bacon. At 5:40, I stumbled out of bed and stirred up the fire to warm the downstairs and loaded the firebox. I put the kettle on for hot tea and put a baking sheet of bacon, ala pioneer women's recommended method, in the oven at 450. I had cut the bread and left it overnight and it was ready for the big cast iron frying pan. Riah is a junior in high school, but he still likes to have a treat like a homemade breakfast before braving the cold and dark. Happy Valentine's Day.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page