top of page
Search
  • Nic

Planning 3


I took this picture last year, but this is pretty much what it looks like this morning, WET. I like planning for the best case scenarios but I need to also be ready for the tough days and rather than being discouraged by them realize they will happen. Our farm is in a zone of soil left after the glaciers retreated from NW Pennsylvania. A lot of clay and not too deep a layer of topsoil and the water table is very close to the surface. If we have a wet winter, which we have, after a wet summer, which we had, and it rains a bunch, which it is doing, voila! Swamp!

Planning to help with this is not a "once and done". Much like my life, it doesn't get "fixed" and Inever have any problems, (re-read my last post).

PROCESS, life keeps coming at you and you have to try and see what works and sometimes what used to work won't work. Or what you try doesn't seem to help, or it creates new problems. I can see I need to build up the soil in front of the house, and since I took this picture we have done just that, and it has helped. Now we just need to deal with all the water that wants to drain across the yard to the house :)


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page