top of page
Search
  • Nic

Living for Real


One day a while back I had a great idea, walk with the kids out to the blueberry patch. Carrying bowls and colanders, we could pick some berries, eat some berries, and breathe some fresh air. I could bring the dog too and just take a few minutes and enjoy. In the midst of moving, life had been so hectic, so full to the bursting with boxes and moving trucks that many lovely moments had slipped away before I even knew they had come. So I resolved, "Take that next moment, don't miss it, no matter what!"

We hastily gathered our gear; sun hats, muck boots, bowls, and bug spray. "Stop complaining, I know it's hot, I know its buggy, but did we ever have pounds of blueberries ready to pick and just to enjoy? Let's GO!" I felt my "joy in the moment" moment begin to fray a bit, so I knuckled down. "I don't want to hear any complaining guys, we are doing this as a family so let's go. Yes. I know Dad's not here. He's at a meeting so he can't come pick blueberries but you are at my mercy, so LET"S GO!"

Why do these "picture perfect" moments always seem to sound like this in real life? How many times had someone stopped me to say, "What a beautiful family!", or "Oh I wish I had done this with my kids back when I had the chance!", "Etc!" Just moments after we had managed to stop the screaming and whining, the arguing and complaining and that was just between my husband and I, forget the four kids.

Seriously though, do you know anyone whose life moves along at that ideal pace? Enough time to get everything done, every task for the day neatly crossed out, and then some elbow room for the unexpected opportunity or challenge? No? I do, well, at least two people.

Once I spoke with a friend, she's a missionary in Guatemala, and she said, "Life has such a different pace in Latin America, I love my life because I never have more to do in day than I can get accomplished." This was about 7 years ago, so it may have changed. Her husband is now director of the ministry and now they have a two small kids and that can certainly throw a schedule out of whack, but then again maybe not. I suspect that it's not just Latin America for her. I know her parents, they are people who routinely have decided to do things a bit differently, to create room in their lives, including moving to Guatemala to be near their daughter and her family. Perhaps it's a way of viewing reality that creates that roominess in one's life?

The other person? Jesus. I know this may seem like a disappointingly typical answer, especially if you have grown up in the church. "Jesus" is the answer to practically every Sunday school question ever asked. Yet, it's true. Jesus's life demonstrated two things that I know my life needs. Tomorrow let's consider what they are.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page